General Mustang Chat Not Model Year Specific

Storing the Mustang over winter?

Search this Thread

Old 9/18/12, 09:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Storing the Mustang over winter?

I'm a noob to Mustang ownership-in fact this winter will be my first with my mustang. I am planning on storing the Mustang in our garage while I drive my truck over the winter months.

Idaho winters traditionally start in mid-late October and end mid April or early May. I am curious if those of you that store your Mustangs could offer any suggestions.

Thank you in advance.
Old 9/18/12, 10:18 AM
Cobra R Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
mine will be out in the snow so i'll let better experienced ppl give storing tips..
but if you ever go out to the garage and start it during the winter, don't just let it run for a minute or 2 then shut it off. running it for a couple of minutes and shutting it off without reaching it's full operating temperature will cause more harm than letting it sit. if you do start it, what you should do is take it out on a sunny snow/salt free day and drive it for at about 15-20 minutes, or at very least don't shut it off until the temp gauge reaches the normal position so it burns out any moisture/condensation
Old 9/18/12, 10:36 AM
Bullitt Member

Most of my vehicles hibernate in winters 6 to 7 months at a time. The most important things I always do are below and I've been doing the same things for over 10 years.

1. Top off fuel tank to minimize air, thus minimizing condensation in the tank
2. Hook up a float charger to each; most batteries will survive anyway
3. Disengage parking brake and park car in gear

I don't believe they need to be started and warmed up or driven; too much complication with insurance status and moisture in the crankcase cannot be "burned off" unless the car is driven for more than 10 miles constantly at operating temperature at highway speed.