General Mustang Chat Not Model Year Specific

Stick Driving Tips for Newbies

Search this Thread

Old 3/31/05, 06:51 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The other reason they say you should not coast in neutral is because it wears the brakes more. You should definitely NEVER coast down a hill. You will kill your breaks, where if it was in gear, the engine will act as a break and take some load off.

I just don't like a lot of unnecessary downshifting, and wear and tear on the trans and clutch. I leave the trans in gear down to a certain speed, but then coast in neutral to a stop. I just don't subscribe to the whole accident avoidance thing, I guess it depends on where you are driving.
Old 3/31/05, 09:44 PM

I'm also new to driving a stick and feel like I've got it pretty well down, and have a much better feel for the car now with 800miles on her. But it was great to read through this thread and see the answers you "experts" were giving to the questions - some of which I had too when first starting out.

And about driving on hills - I'm scared crapless and aviod them at all costs... I dont want my new baby drifting back into anything... :nono: Any further suggestions on this would be great...
Old 3/31/05, 10:49 PM
GT Member

Originally posted by stangprincess@March 31, 2005, 10:47 PM
I'm also new to driving a stick and feel like I've got it pretty well down, and have a much better feel for the car now with 800miles on her. But it was great to read through this thread and see the answers you "experts" were giving to the questions - some of which I had too when first starting out.

And about driving on hills - I'm scared sh*tless and aviod them at all costs... I dont want my new baby drifting back into anything... :nono: Any further suggestions on this would be great...