General Mustang Chat Not Model Year Specific

Snow tires or studded?

Search this Thread

Old 9/26/05, 11:39 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well it's getting to be that time of year again when all us folks not living in sunny California or Florida have to start thinking about winter. I was wondering what everyone thinks the best solution is, studded tires or just regular winter ones. I have heard that studded ones have to be made of harder rubber to hold the studs in than the regular snow tires are, and so they are less tractable after the studs are a little bit worn. Apparently the studs get directional if they get spun a couple times on a road without snow, which would happen pretty easy. Looking for any info and experience.
Old 9/26/05, 11:55 PM
TMS Post # 1,000,000
Serbian Steamer

Just drive slowly and get some weight in the trunk and you'll be fine/ I've been driving with same summer tires every winter for the past 4 years - no problems at all. For this summer I have F-150 4x4.
Old 9/27/05, 10:09 PM
Dan
Do You Remember Me?

Blizzaks + weight in the trunk and you'll be fine.

I drove through the entire winter with just Blizzaks on my stock rims and no weight. I didn't have a problem.
Old 9/28/05, 08:15 PM

I drove in the German and Austrian alps during the entire winter on snow tires alone (Michelins). I was stationed there for 5 years and went snowboarding often. The Stang had no problems at all. Just drive carefully.
Old 9/28/05, 08:19 PM

Just get yourself a cheap set of studded tires. They will totally outperform any of the expensive winter tires on the market. Mine have four or five winters on them and they still have insane grip even with worn studs.

Interesting read:

http://www.pfmmag.com/JulyAugust2004/Julya...tuddedtires.htm
Old 9/28/05, 08:35 PM
Mach 1 Member