General Mustang Chat Not Model Year Specific

I Want to Have My Own Custom Shop. Any Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 9/6/12, 11:41 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I Want to Have My Own Custom Shop. Any Advice?

I graduated from high school a few months ago. I have yet to attend any college or institute because I know what I want to do but not how to get there.

I want to have a custom car shop. No ricing Civics; legit sports cars only. I want to do custom body work, performance upgrades, restoration, etc. Anything from t-tops conversion to installing Whipples. I might even want to have a little custom car dealership thing going on way down the road. It would start with a decent-sized shop and I would spread the word about it by going to custom car club meets, especially Mustang ones since that would be my specialty, to showcase what I've done with my own car. I could also use the forum world.

What steps do you guys think I need to take to secure my desired future?
Any schools I could go to for this kind of stuff? Right now I'm looking at either SIU's 4-year course, or UTI. SIU's courses are more engineer-oriented while UTI takes a more technician-oriented approach. This is my main concern at the moment.

Any advice would be highly appreciated since I'm totally clueless on what I should to at this point. Thanks.
Old 9/6/12, 12:10 PM
Cobra Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
UTI would be more of what you need, If i recall, UTI also has buisiness classes that are oreinted to that specific field. That should benifit you. And a strictly performance shop is one of the hardest to start and thrive. You have to be really good at what you do. So pay attention in class!!!
Old 9/6/12, 12:24 PM
Banned

Thank you. UTI was my preference anyways because of their Hot Rod U and Super Street Programs. I was unaware that they had this business class. I'll look into it.