General Mustang Chat Not Model Year Specific

05 Mustang GT "trumpeting" exhaust during acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 5/25/22, 11:41 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
05 Mustang GT "trumpeting" exhaust during acceleration

Hi there!
I have seen a few forums posts here and there about the ever so lovely "trumpeting" exhaust-tone when accelerating. However, a lot of those posts are quite old and I didn't really ever see anyone update on what exactly they did to stop the trumpeting-tone. I am hoping I can get some people who have experienced this "problem" and have resolved it themselves - to give me some advice on what I should do (as I am pretty new to the whole aftermarket-car-upgrade-world).

My Mustang is an 05 GT automatic.

I have an aftermarket:
AirRaid CAI
Pypes Offroad H-pipe
Corsa Xtreme Axle-back and Flowmaster Outlaw Axle-back (bought the Corsas after the Flowmaster to help a bit with drone issues)

The catalytic converters were removed with the Offroad H-pipe. Everything else is stock.

I am just hoping to get some suggestions/answers, again as I am pretty new and slowly learning, with what I can do to take out that high-pitched trumpeting when accelerating and ultimately push the car to have a lower, rumble - like it does when idle.

I have seen suggestions of adding back high-flow cats and considering resonators. However, I am wanting exact information, if possible, of what people have done, what specific brands/products they've used, etc.

I really appreciate it! Thank you!
Old 5/25/22, 12:56 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 1,556 Likes on 1,065 Posts
I am not sure exactly what is "trumpeting" but I think the cat delete and x-pipe probably are the source of the unpleasant sound you are hearing

PS -- welcome to the forum

Last edited by Bert; 5/25/22 at 01:57 PM.
Old 5/25/22, 01:36 PM
THE RED FLASH ------ Master-Moderator

Received 2,194 Likes on 1,763 Posts