Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

Should I...

Search this Thread

Old 7/26/04, 07:14 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok, I'll be getting my BA in Graphic Design in a few months, and I am at a crossroads here...

I'm wondering if I should go out to Pasadena to get a BA in Transportation Design(that's the fancy name for "I draw cars for a living" degree") or should I go out and buy a house...

Full tuition at Art Center College of Design is about $90,000 and the price for a nice house a few burbs over is about $150,000. It'll probably be a few years before I can afford either...

Anyways, ACCoD is good b/c most car companies hire directly from there, but my cousin and I are talking about starting a custom shop after we both graduate(he's going to WyoTech.) So, right now, I'm leading towards a house.

Words of Wisdom please...
Old 7/26/04, 07:44 PM
GTR Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
A house in the suburbs of Pasedena costing $150K? Are we talking California?

I always looked at advance degrees os a cost/benefit. Is the added cost of tuition worth that much more in salary, and what do most people in the field that you want to work in, have? If most have a master's you may not get in too easily without one. But, if you are considering starting your own business, realize that, it too will will require a substantial investment. Both your time and money will be pushed to their limits. Either way, you'll be investing in your future, and if possible, put the house off until you are more settled in what you are doing.

Hope this helps.
Old 7/26/04, 07:45 PM
Bullitt Member

dont listen to me every decision i have ever made was the wrong one.
Old 7/26/04, 08:12 PM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
You have to decide what you *WANT* to do.

A House will gain value over time ... The education could last a life-time ... It all depends on what YOU want to do. Why not plan to do both?