Search this Thread

Old 6/4/04, 05:47 AM
The Mustang Source FOUNDER

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Rollover victim wins $369M verdict
Old 6/4/04, 05:55 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm not an automotive engineer, and I don't know the particulars of the accident, so my comment may be out of line, but I'll voice my opinion anyways.

I'd be willing to bet if the same manuever was made in a Tahoe, Trailblazer, Montero, (insert most any SUV here), etc., that manufacturer would be under the gun too. Folks have got to realize when they buy those types of vehicles they are more prone to flip simply due to their geometry. It ain't a sports car.

This seems to be on the same par with blaming cigarette makers for a person's lung cancer when it was their decision to buy and smoke the things to begin with.

Interesting topic.. hopefully we will have a good discussion here.
Old 6/4/04, 09:17 AM
V6 Member

Normally I side with the little guy and against big business but that award amount seems excessive to me. Sure she's paralyzed but only from the waist down. Her lawyer sure seems happy in that picture too. He'll never have to work another day in his life if he doesn't want to.
Old 6/4/04, 10:27 AM
GT Member

Offered to knock $100 million off the damage award if Ford would fix the design problems in the Explorer
Like gokbgo said...it's an Explorer not a sports car. Maybe they should lower it to half an inch off the ground and chop the top by about 6 inches...then maybe it won't be so prone to rolling.
Old 6/4/04, 11:31 AM
Bow Chica Bow Wow
TMS Staff

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
<rant>always amazes me...kinda off topic but on at the same time.
how people will cry and say there is no price for human life or injery..then go and sue someone.

I know no one died but it's in the same spirit
I hate that this country has become a place of lawsuits</rant>

Now that being said..I wonder if she is gonna take driving lessons now at least she can afford them.