General Vehicle Discussion/News Non-Mustang Vehicle Chat, Other Makes

Buh-bye Chrysler

Search this Thread

Old 12/22/07, 12:24 PM
Closet American

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Buh-bye Chrysler

Just a matter of time now.

This close to the financial abyss; woeful product lineup...AND they don't know WTF they're doing, so much so that the PR department has to step in post facto and clean up the CEO's mess with damage control statements. Lethal combination.

From an engineer at Chrysler who attended the meeting where Nardelli stuck his foot in his mouth >>

I was AT the meeting where Nardelli said that. I'm an Engineer, and I can say that everyone I work with ALREADY has a fire lit under their asses. We don't need another push . . . what we need is a morale boost. EVERYTHING is getting worse for us, and Nardelli & Co. Don't seem to have a clue how to make things better. Highlights of the meeting for me:

1. Nardelli making a lame joke with the implication of how much money he makes. Meanwhile thousands of his underlings are being laid off.

2. Nardelli saying how excited he is about our upcoming products. 90% of which are Hemi powered and weigh over 4000lbs. Uhh . . . way to adapt to a changing global market.

3. When asked about plans for emerging markets, the response was something like 'We realize emerging markets are important, and we are now thinking about what markets to enter and how to do it.' No kidding? NOW we're THINKING about it? Talk about being late to the table . . .

Ford and GM on on their way to a successfull turn-around. Their market share will never be what it was, but by downsizing and coming out with GOOD PRODUCTS (GM and Ford's latest products ARE actually good cars), they are at least stopping the hemorrhaging and ensuring their survival as the world changes faster than ever. I'm less optimistic about our situation.
I'm not even sure Ghosn would want this company in its current situation.