2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Who Stood With You In Getting Your Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 5/4/06, 03:24 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink

For me, the most enjoyable posts are the stories of the people here on the forum - the human side. I want to read about the significant people who have stood with you in your pursuit of your new Mustang. I’ll start …

Like most of you, when I first saw the concepts, I knew I had to have one of these new Mustangs. I had a perfectly good 2000 Mustang. I certainly didn’t need a new one; I just wanted a new one. That’s a very important point here - there is no way at all I could justify a new Mustang as a vehicle purchase other than a kid wanting a new plaything.

Well, in 2005, money was tight and there was too much debt to justify an admittedly dream toy when there were responsibilities to be met. Also, my wife was 2 years into nursing school. Well, let me expand on that a bit. I am an electrical engineer and used to think I was a big deal because of it. I no longer do. In nursing school, you have to attend two years of pre-requisites just to apply to nursing school. No guarantees you’ll even get accepted. Nursing school also is the only place where the existing nurses eat their young. It is brutal. Once accepted into nursing school, there are two more years of clinical study to get your degree. And then, if you don’t pass your state board exam, you can’t do SQUAT, no matter how educated you are. I started my engineering position after three years of school, and never officially picked up my degree until after seven years of night school. If I went into nursing school today, they’d scrape my balled-up whimpering body off the floor and toss me into the nearest dumpster. There’s no way I could handle nursing school; I have been humbled.