Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trade in or keep?

Search this Thread

Old 6/5/13, 10:56 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trade in or keep?

I can't believe I am even thinking of this and creating a post about it, but I'd like to hear some opinions from some of our more experienced users here

Five months ago I graduated college and I was just accepted into a four year bachelors/masters program at Johns Hopkins to become a CNS. I absolutely love my car and hate to even think about getting rid of it but I'm trying to think smart. First year is all classroom work, second year is working as a RN, an then third and fourth year is working as CNS and getting my masters. So really I only wouldn't be getting paid for a little over a year. The rest of it ill be working while studying.

I live about ~45 minutes from where I'll be going to class/clinicals. I can keep my car and continue as is. I've been saving money to pay for it since I originally planned to go to Physician Assistant school. Or I can trade it in and get a car with a cheaper payment, and better gas mileage. I've had my car for almost two years, so I still kinda owe a good bit. Not sure how much I could get from a dealer vs selling private.

Anyway, just wanted to hear some opinions. I guess I'm hesitant because I really want a 5.0 and unsure if I should buy/lease a cheaper car and then when I get to working as a CNS, get rid of it and get my 5.0. Or if I should ride it out with my current stang. Just would be a lot of miles. I have a list of mods to do but afraid to put too much money in it since I really want a 5.0. But at the same time I love my mustang.
Old 6/5/13, 11:03 AM
Bullitt Member

Definitely do what suites you best, if you have the money to keep it, especially with your career field do it! Maybe hold off on the modding till you get your 5.0 but of course do some here and there.

Not having a pony would be to hard for me lol