2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Rain/Snow etc...

Search this Thread

Old 3/16/07, 08:54 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rain/Snow etc...

Just wondering, the East just got with a mediocre snow storm and I was coming up with my Dodge Neon (awd) and I noticed this guy next to me had a mustang v6 and he was slipping and sliding everywhere so here's my question...

How does the mustang handle in wet and slippery conditions? I prefer some answers from people who use their Mustang as a daily driver but I am open to everyone's thoughts. The reason I say this is because more than likely the 'Stang will be my daily driver and I don't want to be vulnerable to fish-tailing at low speeds etc.
Old 3/16/07, 09:08 PM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts
V6 only has TC as an option unless it is an '06 pony pkg.
I drive a Ranger RWD in the snow all the time with no TC.
I've been driving in the snow for over 30 years.
I have no problem and the rear end is lighter than the Stang.
I do put some weight in the back, but I don't snow tires (they are all season).
I all depends on the driver though.
I saw the 4x4's were a slippin' an a slidin' around me in the snow today.
Old 3/16/07, 09:08 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Drove mine through the winter here in Missouri and as long as you don't think it is a 4WD vehicle, it is no worse than any other rear wheeled drive vehicle. With the traction control on, it keeps slides/spinning to a minimum. There were a couple of days it stayed in the "barn" because I live fairly remote area, but once it was able to get on plowed roads, it did fine.

Just need to use common sense and experience when driving IMO.
Old 3/16/07, 09:09 PM
Cobra Member