2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Picture taking advice

Search this Thread

Old 10/27/08, 04:32 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Picture taking advice

Ok, this Esso gas station has appeared in a number of magazines. So I think I have the location. But I am a novice photographer. I need your feedback on how to position the car and what angle to take it in.

After looking at these...
1. Drive onto the concrete, but that will limit the angles.
2. Take during the morning, when the sun is on the car, but will that cause shadows and reflections?
3. Should I shot from just above the grass or at the 6' above the ground, ie eye level.
4. I am using a 50mm, 1.4 lens. Should I go 200mm prime? 28mm prime? 100mm 2.8L lens?
5. Should I reverse the car and take more of a side and rear shot?
6. What percent of the picture should be car, how much of the station?

HELP!

Old 10/27/08, 05:17 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
NO offense, but it looks like a Hot Wheels Diorama.

Someone told me, I should take the photo's from below the eye level of the car. Aiming up at it, to show the car lines better. And that no matter what your backdrop is, the Car should remain the focal point.
Old 10/27/08, 05:41 PM
Mach 1 Member

Originally Posted by FLAstangx3
And that no matter what your backdrop is, the Car should remain the focal point.

....also, the best lighting is actually early evening. The rays from the sun are softer at night, so it provides light without the high glare of morning/mid-day. Other than that, I just like playing with a whole bunch of angles and locations....but then again, I use digital and not film, just because it is so much easier and cheaper to take 100's of pix. ...My 2 cents...
Old 10/27/08, 07:21 PM
Bullitt Member

Originally Posted by UMich97