2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Need alignment after STB install?

Search this Thread

Old 8/3/16, 02:42 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need alignment after STB install?

I'm going to install a Steeda STB, will have to remove the inner 2 nuts on each ST. It should be just an easy bolt on, but wouldn't removing the 2 inner nuts adjust the camber slightly? Or does nothing move unless you unbolt all 4 nuts? Will I need an adjustment? Suspension noob here, a lot of searches said you shouldn't need an alignment but I guess I'm looking for more details on why removing the 2 nuts "shouldn't" affect it?
Old 8/3/16, 05:14 AM
Super Boss Lawman Member

Received 1,155 Likes on 843 Posts
No alignment issues from just removing the 2 nuts, assuming the other two are still tight.
Old 8/5/16, 08:53 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 41 Likes on 28 Posts
Originally Posted by SpectreH
No alignment issues from just removing the 2 nuts, assuming the other two are still tight.

+1. When I installed mine, it didn't change the alignment. You're good to go.
Old 8/6/16, 01:35 PM

Got it on and torqued up to 26lb. The struts didn't move at all with the other two still tight. Thanks for the answers, still new to working on my own car. Now I need to clean up the engine bay, new materials make the old dirty parts stand out ha
Attached Thumbnails Need alignment after STB install?-stb_reduced085226.jpg  
Old 8/6/16, 07:59 PM
Super Boss Lawman Member

Received 1,155 Likes on 843 Posts
I'm glad you got it on. The best way to learn is by doing things. I learned by watching/helping my dad from when I was a kid. If I have a task that I feel is beyond my experience, I have a good friend who is a mechanic who helps me out.
Old 8/7/16, 12:34 PM

Noticeably better handling when cornering hard! At least on my 7 year old suspension.. nuts to everyone that says STB's are just for looks like racing stripes haha. Can't wait to upgrade the rest of the suspension now
Old 8/8/16, 05:00 PM