2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

LED tail lamp housings

Search this Thread

Old 2/9/07, 05:51 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
LED tail lamp housings

This month's issue of SAE AEI (page 64) shows Valeo Sylvania's new LED taillamp. The photo is of a S197's rear tail lamp. Sylvania claims that the 3D-effect tail lamps include sequential stop and turn signal functions.

I saw APC LED tail lamps for sale in Jeg's, but APC is mostly made overseas and most likely NOT FMVSS 108 compliant.

I'm eager to see the Valeo tail lamps in the market. You get sequential turn/stop signals AND long lasting LED lighting!
Old 2/9/07, 08:22 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gan you take a screen cap of the photo.. I no longer have an SAE membership. When I was a student $10 was fine, but now the higher fee is not worth it for me.

I would love to see what the unit looks like. I don't like the APC design. And if it does have the Sequential feature built in then that can make it very nice as it would be a $100 value added to the unit.
Old 2/9/07, 08:47 AM
Cobra R Member

I know that the APC LED third brake light is SAE compliant.
Old 2/9/07, 10:21 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 41 Likes on 28 Posts
Will the APC unit work with my Webelectric sequentials? I have been thinking about this mod to complement my LED third brake light (thanks mikesrx! )
Old 2/9/07, 10:38 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Originally Posted by mikes rx
I know that the APC LED third brake light is SAE compliant.
Is APC the only vendor that makes an LED third brake light? Where can we get one? Any pics and specs/details on FMVSS 108 compliance?
Old 2/9/07, 01:05 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Whats great about LED tail lights? I always thought they looked liked the circuit board on a cheap Chinese toy. One of the silliest trends ever IMO.
Old 2/9/07, 01:15 PM
GT Member

Originally Posted by kevinb120