2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Considering a new Mustang? A new owners perspective (long)

Search this Thread

Old 9/15/06, 07:43 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You took those words right out of my mouth. My first car was also a 70 mustang. It was a choice between a new F-150 and the GT, but I figured if I was going to get me a mustang it had to be now. I kept saying someday......but the true is soon it was going to be if only I had....47 year old kid with no regrets.
Old 9/15/06, 08:00 AM
Bullitt Member

Rich:

Great Post, I couldn't have said it better. My experience is strikingly similar.

I'm 42 my first car was a 1965 dark blue Mustang Coupe. I'm a lawyer my daughter was born when I was 25 so I had to sell the stang I promised myself I would get another one someday . My sons followed when I was 27 & 29 so we were always a 1 income family with all those loans. For 17 years we were a Honda/Minivan family. Finally the 2005 came out, with a daughter starting college the last thing in the world I needed was a $30,000 toy, but my bride said you never get anything for yourself this is what you always wanted, go get it and we'll figure out how to pay for it.

I know this sounds ridivculous but, This car has added years to my life, it is one of the best decisions I ever made, I have a bad case of perma grin. All the stress we deal with every day dissappears whenever I open the garage or get behind the wheel.

As far as a hobby I spend all week scanning the net for the next mod and all weekend washing and polishing. Its good to see that if I am insane I am not alone!!!!
Old 9/15/06, 01:37 PM
Team Mustang Source Legacy Member

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
I don't normally read all of a long post, but Rich, I read yours twice.

"This is more than just a car to me. It's a hobby, a stress reliever, a constant work in progress, a reflection of who I am."