2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Chips and scratches in windshield

Search this Thread

Old 2/23/05, 09:05 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been driving my own cars for over 18 years. I can count 3 chips in windshields in all those cars of those years.

I've owned my Mustang since Nov. 10th. I have 3 chips in windshield. They aren't big, more just small lines. But the fact that anything that hits the windshield seems to leave its mark. Also the first time I washed it (or cleaned the winshield) it left right to left scratches in the glass.

Are they using cheap glass? Is there a product out there to fill these scratches and chips.

Anyone else experiencing this?
Old 2/23/05, 09:10 AM
Cobra Member

What are you using to clean the windshield that’s leaving scratches? Diamonds or something? I hope is not true. Also are you sure you’ve only experienced three chips? Maybe this is because you paid the most attention to this car. Either way, I hope this isn’t something common.
Old 2/23/05, 09:14 AM
Mach 1 Member

It seems funny that everything that hit's the windshield leaves a mark. I've taken rocks to other windshields and it doesn't leave a mark.
Old 2/23/05, 09:16 AM
GTR Member

Is it just me or are more and more problems being discovered? That 05 is not our friend, i wouldnt get one till 07 if I was interested. THe new cobra wont be any good most likely till 09 (fords low qaulity 1st year products)
Old 2/23/05, 09:16 AM
Cobra Member

That’s horrible man. I'm not going to go test and see if mine does the same thing for obvious reasons, but maybe someone else can share their experiences, maybe the dealership will replace it, if it seems unreasonably soft.
Old 2/23/05, 09:20 AM
Mach 1 Member

As soon as it gets back from the shop (having spoiler replaced and other problems) I'll take pictures of these scratches and chips.
Old 2/23/05, 10:57 AM
FR500 Member

Originally posted by Fordracing200@February 23, 2005, 10:19 AM