Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Battery Tender Question

Search this Thread

Old 12/8/07, 05:09 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Battery Tender Question

Just had Ford replace my dead battery (only 14months old). Didn't leave any lights on.... and alarm was off... but after sitting for 4 days, it was completely dead. Since I only drive the S197 3 days/wk, I'm planning on using a Battery Tender to keep it juiced up at all times. Question: anyone with a battery tender using the optional 'power plug adapter' (for center dash plug)? Don't want to be opening/closing hood every time to hook up to tender, so I like this option... just not sure if the S197 dash adapter wiring is designed for 24/7 battery charge maintenance? Thx
Old 12/8/07, 08:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Try shutting your roff adio of before storing it. Seems the amps have a tendency to stay on when you park the car and drain your battery. I've been storing my car for 2,5 months now and no problems. Before I turned the radio off the battery would go dead in a few days. I use a battery tender with the hood open for up to 5 months with no problems. Never used the feature you mentioned.
Old 12/8/07, 09:56 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
When they are new on the lots, the ones with AAT tend to be dead quite a bit more often then the ones without, may be a drain there. If you get a tender, just get a decent Craftsman one and skip the cheapa mo betta Chinese stuff. I don't have a Mustang(this month) so I don't have the owner's manual handy. I think they have a long term storage section in there?? Any Ford tech should know for sure as they often have to charge/maintain the vehicles on the lot.
Old 12/9/07, 05:12 AM
GTR Member

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
FWIW I am using a Black and Decker maintainer and it hardly charges the battery. If you need a charger to prevent it from dying after 4 days of storage, something is wrong.