2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

08 Horn Issues

Search this Thread

Old 8/15/21, 04:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
08 Horn Issues

My horn went out after going through some water so I thought to replace the horn itself, but the horn is fine. Tested it with the battery. Checked the fuse & relay & they're not blown. Tested the current going from the fuse box to the horn & that is fine. Some were saying to check the clock spring, but my cruise control works & my airbag sign is not on. Steering wheel is not difficult to turn nor does it make noise. I don't have any check engine lights for it. I'm thinking that the wire got some water to it & maybe needs to be tended to. Anyone have some thoughts on it? & a diagram for the horn wiring maybe? Let me know what info to provide about my car. This is my first time on a forum for any vehicle.
Old 8/16/21, 09:11 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 669 Likes on 542 Posts
Figured I'd reply here instead than the other thread, Clover.

You can find in that website I listed all the wiring you need. Just have to poke about until you find it. But I've put the link for ya here for the horn:
https://iihs.net/fsm/?d=40&f=Horn,%2...ighter.pdf&p=1

They're still right to check the clockspring as it's entirely possible just that one wire is a problem, either in the clockspring itself or the connectors involved. It could also be the horn 'switch' assembly, which is more a big floating bracket that just happens to ground out when you push on the airbag, tada, horn. Perhaps that wire is not happy.

Hope that helps!
The following users liked this post:
Cloverbell (8/16/21)
Old 8/16/21, 11:07 AM

Originally Posted by houtex
Figured I'd reply here instead than the other thread, Clover.

You can find in that website I listed all the wiring you need. Just have to poke about until you find it. But I've put the link for ya here for the horn:
https://iihs.net/fsm/?d=40&f=Horn,%2...ighter.pdf&p=1