1994-2004 V-8 GT, GTS, Bullitt, Mach 1, and Cobra

Speed Shifting?

Search this Thread

Old 1/4/06, 06:57 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi...

I am realitively new to mustang racing terms and mustang mods overall, so bare with me. I am driveing an 04 gt 5spd. My car should be broken in at 13000 mi.
I was in a kinda dual sunday. I was up against a few yr old like mid 90s) a pontiac grand am or prix w/ turbo, auto and i got thumped. I asked if it was supercharged. the first time was a stop and drag, thumped me. the second was a light roll and go by me only and still got thumped. I was in 1st, 2nd(85 in 3rd), he musta been at 100. During the 3rd time i shook my head no in defeat but we still ran it up. then we just cruised nicely down the road together for a few lights.
Can some1 explain the theroy of speed shifting and what safe for my car???

Mark
Old 1/5/06, 12:15 AM
Mach 1 Member

I'm still new to the Mustang, but here's what I've learned so far.

Shifter == must, just because your shifts will be cleaner(no grinding) and quicker.

The other is apparently the car prefers a higher RPM, at first I was nervous about higher RPMs. So shifted at lower RPMs....the engine doesn't respond as well as it does during higher RPMs.

As far as speed shifting.....I don't know many who would recommend it: Speed Shifting - racing without using the clutch. To me this seems more harmful than helpful.
Old 1/5/06, 07:31 AM
Stubborn Bear
TMS Staff

Received 48 Likes on 39 Posts
Yeah I defintely would not try any really hard shifting without a good aftermarket shifter. Reason being is that they have bumpstops built into them that keep the linkage in the tranny from being banged against the housing. This can seriously save your gears.

there are many ways to "speed shift" and probably a thousand different opinions on it. I've found my car does seem to shift easier and quicker the higher the RPM I am at.