Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

Midpipe suggestions.

Search this Thread

Old 4/6/07, 02:11 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Midpipe suggestions.

There is a precious metals place by my house that is willing to give me a good amount of money for each catalytic converter I can give them in any condition. Well my car has 4 and thats a good amount of change.

Where I am living they just passed a law that cars 95 and older do not have to be tested for emissions anymore!

What I have been thinking now is scrap the cats for cash and bolt on a new off road midpipe. I am looking at a BBK midpipe because I have BBK equallength headers and I think it would fit great then. I have a flowmaster system in the back that goes over the axel and connect to the midpipe. But I noticed that the pipes on the stock midpipe are off-set that one pipe is longer than the other, and in the pic of the BBK midpipe for my car the pipes are even.

Any suggestions on any other midpipes, how they sound and a good fit? Is the BBK pipe fine?

Thanks!
Old 4/8/07, 05:42 PM
GT Member

Does anyone know how well summit midpipes are? Because they are 60 bucks cheaper than the BBK's any difference besides the summits being in 2 pieces?

HAPPY EASTER!!!

Old 4/8/07, 08:43 PM
Mach 1 Member

I remember reading at another forum that Summit's H-pipe always leaked, right where they connect at the H. I have a Mac H pipe and it fits fine to my BBK headers so if you get a BBK pipe it should fit no problem.
Old 4/8/07, 08:47 PM
GT Member

I remember looking at your myspace videos from another thread, and I remember that I liked your sound. I forget though what mufflers you had?

Is that about the sound I will get with the 2 chamber flowmasters?
Old 4/8/07, 11:07 PM
GT Member

I have another question...

lets say I get this: http://borla.com/applications/lookup..._System/14139/