Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

It's a Bad Day Today...

Search this Thread

Old 5/9/06, 07:32 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It's a Bad Day Today...

Alright, so today when I was driving my timing chain broke. I haven't got it looked at yet, and I know its gonna be bad, but I need an idea of what to expect. The crankshaft is pushed out about an inch or an inch and a half, and when that happened it broke the serpentine. The timing chain cover broke when the chain snapped, and all the oil out of there went everywhere.

Are 5.0s zero clearance engines?

Im just looking for a list of what could/will be wrecked, and how much its gonna cost to fix it, and maybe recommendations on what to do. Keeping in mind im a student so i dont have loads of money sitting around.
Old 5/16/06, 05:40 PM
FR500 Member

Sorry to hear your vehicle is out of commission. Out of curiousity, how many miles/kms on the engine? As for your student status, the "cheapest" route that comes to mind is buying a complete 5.0 HO engine out of a wrecked vehicle from a salvage yard or something. If you are mechanically inclined or know the right people, maybe you can scour online sites and build your own engine? Good luck, whatever you decide to do.
Old 5/17/06, 08:06 PM
Cobra Member

Building one would be cool, but i personally dont have an engine lift or anything, so itd be a bit of a problem to have it at someone elses house for a while while i put together an engine.

The engine had 195km on it, but i found a 5.0HO out of a 91 stang with the tranny and the guy wants 1500 for it. I think i could probably get both for $1000 though, which is the cheapest and best ive found so far. As for mine im currently pulling it apart trying to find any salvagable parts.
Old 5/18/06, 04:50 PM
GTR Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post