1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

My First Mustang (with a lot of lessons)

Search this Thread

Old 7/24/08, 01:40 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I, for one, am certainly interested. I've a feeling yours is a path I will eventually travel down.
Old 7/24/08, 03:50 PM
Bullitt Member

Definately keep posting if you have the time. This is very interesting stuff!
Old 7/25/08, 03:14 PM
Mach 1 Member

Yes PLEASE...Keep on posting !!! I'm just about to start my '69 vert reconstruction and I'm sure some of this info will help me out a lot !!!
Old 7/26/08, 12:03 AM
GT Member

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by gc65restomod
Is there interest in me continuing this thread? I am not too good at this stuff but I will stay with it if you guys find any value in what I post here.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.
Oh yes... please keep posting. You're doing a fantastic job!
Old 7/26/08, 12:21 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Yes, Please keep up the good work!!!
Old 7/26/08, 11:46 AM
V6 Member

Thanks for the replies, so here we go.

With so many fit issues on both the front and rear wheels some ideas were tossed around to address the situation. One idea was to flare the fenders.
I really wanted to avoid the flares to keep my original theme and not make the car look like a pro street dragster. The alternative was to bead the fender wells (cut the lip and weld 3/16" brake line along the edge for a buffer) to gain some space but leave the original appearance on the outside. This would add about 3/8" and the rest of the problem would be solved by milling the front wheel backspacing down 1/2" and narrowing the rear end 2 inches. Smaller tires could be used as a final trick if necessary. That actual work would come later in favor of working on some of the body panels.

Back on the rear of the car the fit issues on quarter panels and wheelhouses were corrected.