1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

My First Mustang (with a lot of lessons)

Search this Thread

Old 3/26/08, 10:41 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My First Mustang (with a lot of lessons)

This is my diary of my first mustang. It started as a seemingly respectable 65, 289 2V convertible with what appeared to be the original engine, and transmission. The previous owner billed it as a daily driver with a lot restoration work completed like floor pans and such. When I purchased this car things looked ok, but I am no expert and such started the learning process.
Attached Images     
Old 3/26/08, 10:44 AM
V6 Member

I started by decoding the numbers and found out that the interior was new and not correct for the car. I thought that this and a paint job would be the big ticket items for the car.

The numbers are as follows:

VIN: 5F08C702757
Year = 5
Body = 08
Convertible
Engine = C
289 2V
Unit Number

Body = 76B
Convertible with Luxury Interior
Color = 5
Twilight Turquoise
Trim = F7
White with Aqua Trim Luxury
Date = 21R
April 21
DSO = 33
Detroit
Axle = 6
2.80:1
Trans=6
C-4 Automatic
Engine=C
289 2V

Purchase Price: $12,000
Old 3/26/08, 11:25 AM
V6 Member

She sat idle, garaged in the New Mexico desert for several years while I was living out of the country and then it was time to start the work. I decided I would take it all apart and do a good job with the restoration. And the lessons begin. Things started out ok but got real ugly real quick.
Attached Images      
Old 3/26/08, 12:31 PM
Bullitt Member