1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

How does this 66 look to ya?

Search this Thread

Old 10/10/05, 08:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a newbie. Found this 66 Mustang and wanted your opinion on it based on the images. $9,900 is the asking price.

What do I need to watch out for?

Thanks for your help.

Old 10/11/05, 03:19 PM
Cobra R Member

It would help to know what region you're in, as prices can fluctuate according to location. (For instance, it's not unusual to find a rust free Arizona car, but rust free cars are rare in Chicago)

Normal first-time buyer's issues have been discussed in the FAQ at the top of the forum:
http://forums.bradbarnett.net/index.php?showtopic=4132

Now for my thoughts on this particular car. Assuming it is not too rusty, and not full of Bondo, that's a nice straight car. It's also not particularly rare or collectible, but looks like a wonderful driver. That being the case, close to $10K for that car would be highway robbery. 6K (again, depending on your location) would be about the max I'd want to pay for that car, which in my brief estimation is a low option (factory C code two barrel 289, no power steering, no power brakes, A/C with no compressor), but straight car. I'd also be curious to know the condition of the brakes/steering/suspension. The car appears to have had a quick fresh coat of blue on the engine, and some new chrome bits to try and distract from other things that are less than perfect.
Old 10/11/05, 09:03 PM
FR500 Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
four words...look under the car!! check the frame rails front and rear for rust and rotting...
Old 10/11/05, 09:17 PM

Blake,
Thanks for the info.

The car is located in Georgia, I am in Detroit.

There are a few others I am looking into around in the Detroit area, actually two 67s that are 7600 and 5500 each. One with a 351, the other with a 289. Both notchback coupes.