1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

Differential oil for 1969 6-cylinder Mustang?

Search this Thread

Old 11/7/23, 07:10 PM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Differential oil for 1969 6-cylinder Mustang?

Hi everyone,
I am new to classic cars and need help to get on the right track.
I recently got a 1969 200cu in coupe with 3-speed manual trans. Mosty original parts, the previous owner upgraded 4 disc breaks and a new radiator and kept the interior in good shape. I plan to daily drive it so I wanted to have all the maintenance done and replace any worn-out parts.

From the date plate I find it has 3.08:1 gear. I plan to change the diff oil but could not find assuring information for oil type. Does it needs friction modfier?
Also does anyone know the clutch and flywheel size? The current ones shakes a lot when starting in 1st gear at lower rpm, but no problem going when I rev it higher. Still drives fine but a little annoying.

Things I've done so far at a shop:
Carburetor rebuid -- pertronix ignition and coil on the way
New gas tank and fuel sending unit
New exthust pipe and flowmaster muffler to replace the old rust one
My next plan is to replace old suspension parts, I think it has original coil spring now and they are probably bad.
Old 11/8/23, 09:19 AM
Administrator, Shop Manual PDF Poster, Parts Locator & Spam Bot Eliminator!!

Received 2,861 Likes on 2,112 Posts
Hello & Welcome

First Thing I Advise is a FACTORY Shop Manual Set!

It is 5 Volumes! If You Are Going to get a CD Make Sure it is Name Brand as Lots of Rip Off Copies Out There!

https://www.ebay.com/itm/13240054673...3ABFBM7siZ-_Vi

I Like Books Myself and Here is a Nice Set at a great Price!

https://www.ebay.com/itm/19601599875...Bk9SR-zImfv1Yg