2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Noise coming from the rear and dealer's diagnosis

Search this Thread

Old 2/26/15, 10:08 AM
Cobra Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Ok, for the last several months, may car has been making this noise that sounds to me like is coming from the rear end. I can hear it up til about 45-50 MPH and then I'm not sure if it goes away or if it's being drowned out by tire, wind or exhaust noise. It sounds kind of like a growling/howling sound to me. It's not high pitched, and it doesn't sound like a typical grinding noise. Now the strangest part to me is that it gets quite a bit louder when I'm coasting than when I'm accelerating. I have no idea what to think since I'm no mechanic, so I took it to the local Ford dealership yesterday.

I just got a call saying they diagnosed it as being a bad driveshaft carrier bearing and that my 1.5" lowering springs caused it to go bad prematurely. That interesting considering I've had the noise for longer than the car was lowered. They want $600+ for the part and $105 for the labor.

My car is less than a year old and approaching 13,000 miles. I've had another lowered Mustang (2008 GT/CS) and had no issues up to 52,000 miles when we traded it in.

First of all, what is a drive shaft carrier bearing? Second, is this a part that could be affected by the lowering? Could it be something else? I have the 3.73's and thought the noise might be coming from there since I've read about people having noisy rear ends with that gear.
Old 2/26/15, 11:48 AM
SVS
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Below is a driveshaft carrier bearing.. came from my old Isuzu when I went to a one-peace driveshaft. I did not know our Mustangs had carrier bearings on the driveshaft.

And yes if you change the "angle" of the drive shaft by lowering or raising a vehicle you stress the bearing and create the potential for failure.

Old 2/26/15, 11:54 AM
SVS
V6 Member