GT

Prepare for 0-60 practice, and have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 4/1/17, 10:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Prepare for 0-60 practice, and have some questions

I just got first of my stang last week. It is 2017 GT Premium with auto trans. So exciting! I will be practicing the 0-60 after 600 miles (as someone suggested).

And also it is my first sport car, so I hope I will not hurt it when I do the practice..

So I have some questions:

1. For my auto trans, when I do the 0-60, what is the exact difference between Sport+ and Track Mode?

2. Since there is no Launch Control in my car, can I release brake (hold the gas around like 3000 RPM) at the moment of starting? Does this method hurt the car?

3. If I use paddle shifter instead, is it possible (I am a beginner) that it is faster than auto shift?

Old 4/8/17, 07:13 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Congrats on your new car!
I can't answer your 1st question - but as far as the 2nd - you're good to go!
Just know these trannys are built tough - so unless you plan on doing this every day - you have nothing to worry about.
As for your 3rd question - I'd guess the tranny programmers were thinking ahead of you on that - & will make sure their shift points take you down the line faster in auto mode - than you could ever hope to beat.
But then - you might find it more fun to try to best their programed time yourself.
Have fun - & report back with your results.
Hanaha!
The following users liked this post:
inter1908cg (4/10/17)
Old 4/9/17, 05:31 PM
Banned

Received 254 Likes on 230 Posts
Standing on the brake while you build engine torque to 2500rpm or so is the best way to get a good 0-60 time. You don't want to do this very often though, since it puts extra strain on the torque converter. Every now and the it should be fine.

An I agree with NVR above, paddle shifters will probably not be faster.
inter1908cg (4/10/17)
Old 4/10/17, 08:21 PM
GT Member

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
A Newbe!