Instrument cluster swap from an 18 to a 15. - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums



Instrument cluster swap from an 18 to a 15.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11/13/17, 08:53 AM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: October 31, 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Instrument cluster swap from an 18 to a 15.

Is it possible to swap out a new 18 instrument cluster into a 15 GT? Either the new analog gauge or the new 12 inch digital gauge?
Hellrungm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join The Mustang Source

Join TheMustangSource.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford Mustang fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford Mustang Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your stang, and have a great time with other Ford Mustang fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Mustang you'll find that TheMustangSource.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join TheMustangSource.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Old 11/13/17, 01:17 PM   #2
The Prodigal Son Returns
TMS Staff
 
JeffreyDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 2, 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,517
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
No one that I know of has tried, here or on other forums.

The general consensus is analogs would probably work, but why would you want to? And, that the digital may work, depending on how much of the smarts are built into the cluster itself.

Either way, much like swapping in the GT350 cluster, there may be some programming via Forscan that would need to be done to make it fully work.
JeffreyDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/17, 04:17 PM   #3
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: October 31, 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply. The cluster in the 15 was very standard and should have had more options. The new analogs should have the my color halo rings added and a new digital speedometer in the middle.
Im debating on which cluster I would like to add. If I do pick up one you said a forscan for setting up the gauge inner computer. Who should I go to? The dealership thatís near said they donít do that there.
Thanks for all of your help.
Hellrungm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/17, 10:52 PM   #4
The Prodigal Son Returns
TMS Staff
 
JeffreyDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 2, 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,517
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
On the digital, no clue yet. If it is determined to be possible, I'd be in on that

For the GT350 cluster you have to reprogram the mileage, and if I remember correctly maybe even some of the warning lights. I'd have to google, but I think MyColor didn't work afterward either.
JeffreyDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/16/17, 01:56 PM   #5
The Prodigal Son Returns
TMS Staff
 
JeffreyDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 2, 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,517
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
FYI - someone was able to find the wiring diagrams for the existing 15-17 cluster vs the new all digital and they were the same connectors and pins. So, now we just need to know what, if anything, will need to be changed.

e.g. for Autos will the A10 make a difference, were drive modes tweaked, etc.
JeffreyDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 AM.


© 2010, The Mustang Source We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.