2012-2013 BOSS 302

Blocked off Side Exhausts?

Search this Thread

Old 12/28/12 | 02:01 PM
Post *****

Originally Posted by Tony Alonso
Why do you think this?

Right. He seems to think Ford just slapped them on with no thought to performance. When the Boss is all about performance.
Old 12/28/12 | 02:06 PM
GT Member

I dont like this topic.
Old 12/28/12 | 05:10 PM

Well Gentlemen,

I have a 2005 GT-different engine. I love the Coyote engine so that's why I want a Boss. I would actually prefer the GT but can't get the Boss engine (as modified by Ford) in that car so I'm trying to modify the Boss to fit my desires.

I have been involved with bikes for many years and have a 2012 BMW S1000RR. It weighs about 450 lbs and has 193hp at the crank, look it up. In other words weighs about one-tenth as much as a Boss with almost one-half the HP. It has a custom full Akrapovic exhaust system installed amongst other modifications. So I have some experience with exhaust systems.

I think the side pipes like the Boss's sound tube are there to appease the buyer and are not performance enhancements. The manner of the side exhausts and the tiny little hole may well create turbulence in the tubes which may hinder the extraction of exhaust gases I don't know this for a fact but I don't like the right angle turns and small diameter. Exhaust gas behaves like a liquid and even if the restrictor plates are removed not much exhaust is going to make a 90 degree turn to enter these little side pipes. They are there to make noise for the driver and if I'm that driver I would rather the exhaust continue undisturbed to the rear of the car.

For the gentlemen who was concerned that blocking off the side pipes would create too much back pressure, I offer: Back pressure is not always bad, especially at low RPM. Moreover since this engine has variable cam timing on both the intake and exhaust, I doubt back pressure or the lack thereof is an issue for it.

Curtis
Old 12/28/12 | 05:45 PM