Notices
2015 - 2020 Discuss the Current Generation

TPMS reading 50 psi after using training tool

Old 3/5/17, 06:37 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: July 13, 2012
Location: Miami
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TPMS reading 50 psi after using training tool

I just installed 4 new wheels with the tpms pre installed. After using the tpms tool which I also purchased, the reset on all wheels completed successfully. However all 4 wheels seems to be reading 50 psi now. Im sure that number is high, is there a way to recalibrate the reading to the actual pressure?
sdch1000 is offline  
Old 3/5/17, 06:45 PM
  #2  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
SpectreH's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 5, 2015
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 2,328
Received 286 Likes on 257 Posts
That number does seem high, but you need to check the actual tire pressure with a good gauge to know how far off the TPMS system is off.
SpectreH is offline  
Old 3/6/17, 12:17 AM
  #3  
Cobra Member
 
Gravydog316's Avatar
 
Join Date: June 4, 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,467
Received 276 Likes on 250 Posts
TPMS' never work right. use a manual gauge...
(as my dad likes to say... over... & over...)
Gravydog316 is online now  
Old 3/7/17, 08:46 AM
  #4  
Team Mustang Source
 
orange3.9stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 20, 2004
Location: N.E. Wisconsin
Posts: 883
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Is this on the 2013 in your sig ??

If so, you posted this in the wrong section.

Also, S550 (2015-up) does not need the training tool that the S197's did. Put my winter wheels from my S197 on my 2016 last Fall and got the TPMS error code within 20 miles (was curious to see what happened). Swapped in correct S550 Sensors and the car automatically found them and has been fine (and accurate) ever since.

Doug
orange3.9stang is offline  
Old 3/10/17, 10:26 AM
  #5  
V6 Member
 
rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: August 28, 2012
Location: east,TN
Posts: 72
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Gravydog316 View Post
TPMS' never work right. use a manual gauge...
(as my dad likes to say... over... & over...)
I have 2 Accugages that both read the same. They surprisingly match my tpms exactly. The same for the '12 SS Camaro I had.
rider is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.