2015 - 2023 MUSTANG Discuss everything 2015-2023 S550 Mustang

Live Axle vs IRS question

Old 7/10/14, 02:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Live Axle vs IRS question

Good day all,

I am new to the Mustang, or I should say, I will be new to the Mustang. I was ready to finally get into a 2014 when I realized that there was going to be a complete rebuild and new model in the 2015's.

After looking at them I decided that the way to go would be to wait till the new model came out.

After that was settled in my mind came the doubts and questions that inevitably follow.

Established model in it's last year with all the attendant savings that will come with the clearing of the model, the unknowns of the new model and the growing pains associated the the introduction for the first year or two

To get to the crux of my question.

To those of you that have driven Mustangs with ,as many of the auto magazines describe as, the " dinosaur live axle". Will there be a significant upgrade in the 2015 with the IRS to forgo the savings in the 2014 clearance?

Thanks for any and all comments.
Old 7/10/14, 03:01 PM
Bullitt Member

Unless you drag race, the new suspension should be significantly better. You'll have to weigh the importance of that improvement yourself. I have a 2012 and absolutely love the way the car drives, but I am seriously considering the 2015 and I personally won't miss driving over train tracks and hitting rough road on corners on the 2012.
Old 7/10/14, 03:09 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If you current car is a performance car with IRS you should test drive a 2014 with the live-axle and see if you notice the different.
Old 7/10/14, 03:26 PM
Cobra Member

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts
The mustang was my first live axle. The first couple of times you hit a bump on a corner is scary but you learn that the car will be fine.