2015 - 2023 MUSTANG Discuss everything 2015-2023 S550 Mustang

December 2015 Mustang Sales

Search this Thread

Old 1/5/15, 12:27 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
December 2015 Mustang Sales

Ford brand's sales of all car models were off, save for the new-design Mustang, which was up 66.1% to 9,511.

That puts it well ahead of rival Chevrolet Camaro's 6,628. 2,883 more Mustangs, but Now we need to know if this put Mustang in the lead for the entire year. I think it may have missed, but only barely. Anyone know?
Old 1/5/15, 12:49 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have no inside knowledge, but I wonder if lack of supply hurt those numbers, as well as dealers early on not discounting.

I drove the GT the first week it was at the dealer, no discounts, so I didn't drive one home.

What surprises me more is the Camaro's numbers, given the old body style that hasn't really been changed in many years and the fact that a new one is coming so soon.

The Mustang just saw a major redesign, I would expect it to blow out the sales numbers.
Old 1/5/15, 02:10 PM
Banned

Received 254 Likes on 230 Posts
Originally Posted by FlyTexas
What surprises me more is the Camaro's numbers, given the old body style that hasn't really been changed in many years and the fact that a new one is coming so soon.

The Mustang just saw a major redesign, I would expect it to blow out the sales numbers.
You make a very good point. I think there are 2 factors playing against the S550 sales right now.

1) The outside redesign is very polarizing. I think it put off some of the Mustang fan base. I think a lot of potential Mustang buyers chose the remaining 2014s versus the new car. It has attracted some new buyers for sure too, but is it enough to give it a sustained sales edge?
2) The Car magazines comparos of S550 PP VS Camaro SS 1LE are in favor of the Camaro, which may sway people who are on the fence.