Notices
Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

'12 V6 Mustang with TIS Wheels (balance issue)

Search this Thread

Old 6/10/12, 11:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'12 V6 Mustang with TIS Wheels (balance issue)

I just purchased a 2012 V6 black Mustang that came with 20 inch TIS wheels. I am new to the Mustang world, and after some research, I understand that these wheels came on a special "DUB" Edition last year.

I suppose my rims and tires were left overs as part of that package, and the dealer put them on there. They really set the car off and look great, but they were never balanced properly.

I local tire shop (paid by the dealer) tried two times, and there is still vibration in the steering wheel. There is no particular speed at which the vibration is worse. It comes and goes, but it is annoying, especially in a brand new car.

I am taking it Monday to get a road force balance, hopefully that will solve the issue.

Anyone have thoughts on how to properly balance 20 inch wheels?

I know that the steering wheel shimmy isn't normal, even on 20 inch wheels.

Am I right?
Old 6/10/12, 12:01 PM
Cobra Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Try swapping the wheels front to back and see if there is a difference. It may not be the wheels.

Any good shop should be able to balance any size wheel and tire..........

Has anyone looked for a slightly bent rim?
Old 6/10/12, 12:29 PM

Gonna have them inspected tomorrow by a tire shop in Little Rock who says they can take care of it. I am hoping to get it taken care of. I am tired of stressing over this. I love my new car, just want it to drive like one. I am hoping it's not a bent rim and just a simple balance issue....
Old 6/10/12, 06:13 PM
bob
Legacy TMS Member

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by AzPete
Try swapping the wheels front to back and see if there is a difference. It may not be the wheels.