5.0L GT Modifications Placeholder for future motor based GT's modifications.

Weird tuner question

Search this Thread

Old 1/15/14, 01:22 PM
Cobra R Member

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
Weird tuner question

I am new to this whole tuner thing. I have a 12 with skip shift. I'm thinking of buying a tuner to remove skip shift and program different size tires. I'm one of those annoying people that just wants stuff a certain way for no logical reason. I know you can unplug skip shift and that 275 40 19 tires are only slightly different.

I would like to keep the longevity of a factory tune and change these 2 details of my car.

Is it possible? Has anyone done this? Do these 2 modifications show as a tune and void my warranty? Any answers are appreciated.
Old 1/15/14, 02:22 PM
Former Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It won't show as a tune per se however, it will show as a flash. This in turn Ford could attempt to void your warranty but they would have to prove your "flash" caused it, which they won't be able to. You can go in and change tire size but I do believe a tuner has to turn off skip shift, I could be wrong though I can't remember.
Just let us know if we can help you out, we are a VMP dealer. Justin at VMP is a magician when making your shifts crisper but that's something completely different then what you asked
Either way, we can take care of ya!
Old 1/15/14, 02:37 PM
Post *****

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I thought most people just disconnected the solenoid.

https://themustangsource.com/f726/ea...5/#post5984901
Old 1/15/14, 02:39 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 166 Likes on 141 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay@Hypermotive