5.0L GT Modifications Placeholder for future motor based GT's modifications.

Some upgrades and tune questions for the 5.0

Search this Thread

Old 3/5/12, 04:39 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Some upgrades and tune questions for the 5.0

Im somewhat new to the modern cars and never really had to do a tune before, so I'm hoping i can get some advice and opinions here.

I noticed that people do an air intake upgrade and automatically do a tune, obviously intake alone will only give you about 3-4 HP so why the tune?

Im assuming intake does not void the warranty, but the tune would? can the tune be reversed to stock settings?

I personally wanted to do and intake and GT500 mufflers only, maybe an X pipe, but nothing more, i don't see why a car would need a tune, might free up additional 10HP tops, or would it it a tune with such a small gain of HP?

I'm starting to be a regular on this forum and hopefully ill learn up some things before the car arrives
Old 3/5/12, 05:31 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You can get an Airaid as this has an insert were you do not need a tune and pick up about 8rwhp. Most of the other CAI's require a tune as the MAF size is larger than stock. So more air needs a tune. With tune and CAI you can pick up 20-25rwhp.
Old 3/5/12, 09:21 AM
Bullitt Member

From what I have learned here over the last 18 months or so is you are rolling the dice with the warranty if you tune and install a CAI. There are many different opinions on that topic. I understand that, yes, the tune can be brought back to stock.

My opinion is, it just doesn't seem worth it. Risk vs reward.

Welcome to the SG club. Can't wait to see your new ride. I am looking for matte black rims for mine now, I just can't decide...
Old 3/5/12, 09:41 AM
GT Member