5.0L GT Modifications Placeholder for future motor based GT's modifications.

Mustang GT non-brembo brake upgrades for auto-x/track day

Search this Thread

Old 12/20/12, 11:30 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mustang GT non-brembo brake upgrades for auto-x/track day

I have a 2012 GT that I am piecing parts together for occasional track and autocrossing. I am a beginner and curious as to if there is a true track pad for the stock caliper? Or do I have to upgrade the brakes completely. I plan on getting ss lines, fluid, and frpp brake duct kit
Old 12/21/12, 03:28 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by SlowRiderr
I have a 2012 GT that I am piecing parts together for occasional track and autocrossing. I am a beginner and curious as to if there is a true track pad for the stock caliper? Or do I have to upgrade the brakes completely. I plan on getting ss lines, fluid, and frpp brake duct kit
Ceramic pads will outperform OEM.Take a look at Carbotech for track days. Also switch the stock fluid for DOT4. And wait on brake ducting. Put that $ towards a big brake kit for the front first. $ better spent.

Last edited by wheelman; 12/21/12 at 03:38 AM.
Old 12/21/12, 06:16 AM
Bullitt Member

BBK means I have to buy new wheels and tires too. That's why I was holding off on that
Old 12/21/12, 09:22 AM
Mach 1 Member

How much spare time do you have? Here's a little light reading for you.

https://themustangsource.com/f813/br...eviews-492130/
Old 12/21/12, 09:26 AM
Currently a Corvette Owner!

Received 48 Likes on 42 Posts
Originally Posted by wheelman
Ceramic pads will outperform OEM.Take a look at Carbotech for track days. Also switch the stock fluid for DOT4. And wait on brake ducting. Put that $ towards a big brake kit for the front first. $ better spent.
---