2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Tight Supply of Mustangs now?

Search this Thread

Old 7/6/12, 09:04 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Here is what I don't understand. I know Ford is the only big 3 car company that didn't take the government bail out and they are doing OK business wise. But can they just throw away Mustang sales just like that because they are not building enough of them? I assume they make the same amount of money on a Mustang as they do on an Edge or Focus or whatever. And if Mustangs are selling better than a Focus why not ramp up the line and make more? Why is the allocation so low on their flagship performance car which is also a legend in the car industry itself? THis whole allocation scheme seems like a result of mis-forecasting and management and lack of industral awareness of the car market. Then again, I may me all wrong. I am an engineer, not a business person. 8-)

Joe C
Old 7/6/12, 09:32 AM
Legacy TMS Member Moderator

Received 531 Likes on 231 Posts
Originally Posted by fasrnu
For future reference, orders are scheduled based the following criteria:
-the priority code rating
-the dealer's allocation for each production week
-the ordered option content
-the receipt date
The receipt date is a factor when breaking ties for orders with the same priority code. I hope this explains it a little for you guys.

Deysha
It sounds like the priority code on mine "19" might be an issue. Can the dealer change the priority code on an existing order and not loose the original order date?