Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Thoughts on the 2014 MT82

Search this Thread

Old 2/26/13, 10:19 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thoughts on the 2014 MT82

I've managed to rack up 300 miles on the new GT and I'm still learning the nuances of this machine. Bear in mind this thing probably isn't even near broken in yet, so take this with a grain of salt.

The transmission requires a huge amount of finesse to manage mid - high RPM shifting. It feels as though the shift gate is moving about and I have to chase it around a bit.

Also, 80% of the time there's a clunk near the engine bay when shifting from 1st - 2nd. When I press the clutch shifting from 1st, I hear 3 metallic taps; it sounds like the pressure plate is bouncing against the flywheel.

I'm not going to make a service issue of any of this unless it persists beyond the first oil change. I'm going to assume that the shifting issue is due to the infamous shift bracket/bushing, so I ordered the Steeda replacement and hope to have that installed over the next 2 weeks.

These two issues have takes some of the enjoyment away from my experience, but the rest of the car has been great. Still, the enjoyment of rowing through the gears and that level of connectivity with the motor and transmission is the reason why I went manual. I really hope these two issues resolve themselves soon.

Last edited by fdesalvo; 2/26/13 at 10:26 PM.
Old 2/26/13, 10:28 PM
Xar
Mach 1 Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
dude - take it in and have ford look at it, don't wait until the first oil change. I have a 13 and I have no issues with the transmission like what you're saying.

I'll change the tranny fluid and upgrade to an MGW shortly, but as I am now, I have NO issues compared to you. Get it looked at....
Old 2/26/13, 10:50 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Shifter bracket should make a big difference
Old 2/27/13, 09:24 AM
Cobra Member