Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Shifting Pointers.

Search this Thread

Old 6/25/11, 07:03 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shifting Pointers.

I've been driving manual for 2 years now and since this is my first manual car as a regular driver (that's actually mine) I'm looking for some pointers in my shifting.

My shifts from 2-3 3-4 and so forth are improving as I drive the car more and more but I cant seem to get down 1-2. I'm always rewarded with a nice thunk every time I let the clutch out from first. Now am I letting the clutch out too fast or am I doing something else wrong. Now if i do a hard acceleration in first up to 5-6k, she'll shift smooth. I know this is a weird way to ask for pointers but I'm just looking for some advice from people with experience with the car. I love this thing to death more and more everyday. Can't wait to get my shifting down so I really can let her go!
Old 6/25/11, 07:08 PM
Banned

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I would suggest an after market shifter. Stock shifters suck @ss.
Old 6/25/11, 07:33 PM
Bullitt Member

Originally Posted by 11SHELBYGT500
I was thinking about it. Maybe even the Barton bracket. I just thought my clutch clunking was happening because of bad technique.
Old 6/25/11, 07:54 PM
Bullitt Member

How often are you in traffic jams with the car?
Old 6/25/11, 08:21 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I found using a LITTLE gas helps make it smooth, also try letting it out slower. Fist gear in this thing is unlike any other car I have driven.
Old 6/25/11, 08:41 PM
Cobra Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Yep....release the clutch a bit slower in first than the other gears. Just keep trying different rates and you will find the right spot for you.
Old 6/25/11, 08:50 PM
Post *****

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
My stock shifter is perfect.