4.17%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Need your opinion on 2011 MT82 repair.

Search this Thread

Old 4/24/12, 08:09 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need your opinion on 2011 MT82 repair.

I have been working with my dealership for well over 6 months now and the service manager who is my Dad's cousin has been trying to get me a new transmission due to the screaming banshee whine mine makes.

Especially since Ford put new phosphate treated gears in the newer MT82's to reduce the whine I feel there is justification to get it replaced.

The service manager called me and said that Ford will not replace the transmission without them using the Cost Cap tool. So that means tearing down the transmission and determining if it is cheaper to repair or replace.

What makes me nervous is if they tear it down and just repair it I have never had luck with repaired transmissions and am afraid I will be spending the next couple months trying to get things right.

Would you stick with the whiney transmission or take the gamble and see if they will repiar it with the new gears or replace the whole thing and if they do repair hope it runs well.

Thanks,
Chris
Old 4/24/12, 08:21 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Use your warranty - you paid for it!
Old 4/24/12, 08:27 AM
A Man Just Needs Some....

Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts
Well once they go into it, they usually don't replace them. They don't make repairs and then replace the whole unit because the repair didn't resolve the problem. That's so they can hang the costs on the dealer for a comeback.
Old 4/24/12, 10:37 AM
GT Member

I don't know how bad it's whining but if you feel it's a problem, which you obviously do or you wouldn't be here. Then my vote is to bring it in to Ford and let them fix it. You paid for a warranty so put them to work until your happy. All the technicians/service advisors can do is follow Ford protocol. It sucks but that's the way it is unfortunately.