Sponsored By:

My 2011 Stage 2, and a review.

Search this Thread

Old 7/21/11, 08:59 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My 2011 Stage 2, and a review.

Hey guys,

Well, after reading these forums for many months, I decided to get back to my roots with another 5.0. You see, my first car was an '85 GT, and I've been a Mustang lover ever since.

So, after 1000 miles on her, I offer a review. Keep in mind that I am coming from a '98 Cobra that I've been driving for the last 13 years. So, my comparisons are mostly compared to that car (which I loved).

The good:

-- Performance: Exceptional. Despite it being somewhat heavier than my old car, I found it to be very lively and agile. 1st and 2nd gear accelerations are simply amazing, and the engine has enough torque to drive comfortably in any gear.

-- Handling: Fantastic. This is more Roush specific, but the car really handles as if it were on rails. Almost zero body roll, and any turn can be taken with confidence.

-- Styling: Beautiful. I think the '10+ Mustangs look great, and Roush really got it right with their enhancements. The car receives compliments wherever it goes.

-- The little things: MyColor, ambient lighting, nice interior, very quiet inside. The more I drive the car, the more I appreciate the fit and finish of these things.

The bad:

-- Shaker 500: Sucks. The Mach 460 in my 13 year old car sounded better than this. It's a shame too, because if Ford had done something similar by encasing the rear speakers in a small box, it would have sounded much better. But instead, they'd rather sell you an overpriced subwoofer in the trunk.

-- Power passenger seat not standard: Why? This is a 'Premium' package, and having a passenger seat that is too low and not being able to adjust it upwards is very disappointing.