2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

How to store for the Winter?

Search this Thread

Old 11/3/12, 11:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to store for the Winter?

I know a lot of guys drive their 'stangs in the winter, but I don't want to deal with the dirty snow and the salt from the roads getting on my baby. I have a two car garage and figured I should put her away - for not TOO long... - until winter's over.

Question is, what should I do? It might sound silly but I am kind of new to this. I've read and been told many things from friends, but I'd like to check with all of your opinions.

What's been suggested to me:
  • Wash the car (duh)
  • Clean up the dashboard and floor mats on the inside
  • Wax the car (I've also been suggested to do this at the start of a season INSTEAD of the end - and also don't know wax brands that well)
  • Get STA-BIL for the gas in the tank, or run the car every 2 weeks
  • Get a car cover (I don't know what one to get, also the car will be inside a clean garage with my other vehicle for at most until March, if I do this end of November it's four months, do I even need a cover?)
  • I've been told to not mess with the engine oil now, but get it changed once I'm good to start driving again.
  • Either disconnect the battery, or get a trickle charger that connects directly to the battery or through an accessory port to keep the batt. from dying.
All of these things seem reasonable in one form or another to me, but I don't know which are good ideas or required ideas. I also don't know if there are things I'm overlooking (does it matter if I leave the car in gear, or just leave the brake on? random things I haven't mentioned).

So... what do I do? Or, what would you do?

Last edited by dontOverSteer; 11/3/12 at 11:51 AM. Reason: mistyped
Old 11/3/12, 12:02 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts