2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Handling: Old vs 2010+ Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 5/10/12 | 09:23 AM
Mach 1 Member

Question Handling: Old vs 2010+ Mustang

A question that I always wanted to ask. What makes the new Mustang (2010+) handle better (and ride better in terms of comfort) than previous ones (2009 and below)? Must likely I'm wrong but isn't the new Mustang using the same Solid Rear Axle configuration for the last 20 or 30 years? Is it better suspension tuning (bushing, suspension geometry, etc....), Limited Slip Differential...what?

Please Mustang enthusiast help me understand since I'm kind of new to the Mustang world. Thanks.
Old 5/10/12 | 10:20 AM
Cobra R Member

I don't know the entire story, but I know that a big part of it is an increase in structural stiffness. The stiffer the structure, the better the suspension can be.

I've seen photos of the underside of a 2011 showing the improved areas. Hopefully someone else can chime in with specifics and numbers.
Old 5/10/12 | 10:56 AM
Post *****

Originally Posted by newpony
What makes the new Mustang (2010+) handle better (and ride better in terms of comfort) than previous ones (2009 and below)? Must likely I'm wrong but isn't the new Mustang using the same Solid Rear Axle configuration for the last 20 or 30 years? Please Mustang enthusiast help me understand since I'm kind of new to the Mustang world. Thanks.
YES it uses an SRA - that's its forte'!

Ford is using a different combination of stiffer stabilizer bars, spring rates, dampers, tires. (Yes to the Track-Lock diff but that doesn't affect handling so much as it does response.)