2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Getting back into a new Mustang tomorrow. A few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 4/26/14, 12:01 PM
Cobra Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Getting back into a new Mustang tomorrow. A few questions...

A few years ago we traded in our 2008 GT/CS so that we could move from Cleveland to Charlotte. Now that that's happened, tomorrow we're driving to Atlanta to pick up a DIB 2014 Mustang GT with the track pack. I've been doing some catching up on what has changed since 3 years ago and what's new with the new 5.0's. I do have some planned mods already:

Exhaust
Tune (no CAI)
1" lowering springs
American Muscle 2013 charcoal Shelby wheels
American Muscle 5" GT500-style silver stripes
Tint

I do have a few questions though that I was hoping to clarify before I leave tomorrow:

1.) I've read conflicting things about the new 5.0's requiring premium gas. Is this correct? I googled the 2014 owner's manual and from what I can tell, 87 is acceptable, but premium will yield better performance. Is that correct?

2.) I see that the Track Pack-equipped cars require 8.5 quarts of 5W-50 oil. I've never even heard of 5W-50, so where is the best (cheapest) place to get that? Also, since it takes 8.5 quarts, does it have an extended oil change interval? That's a lot of freaking oil to change every 5,000 miles (but I'll do it!).

3.) I've discovered that the "useful" mods for these cars aren't the same as what I previously experienced. With that in mind, I'm wanting to get a Procal for tuning instead of a CAI and tuner. Who seems to be the cheapest on those as a stand alone item? Also, I've read of people paying dealerships anywhere from $50-200 to have them install it so as to be covered by the warranty. That's quite a range for something that probably takes them 20 minutes. Out of that range, is there an average typical price?

4.) GT500 or Roush axle-backs? I can't decide!!!!