Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

The Cure For the Common Car

Search this Thread

Old 9/1/10, 01:17 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Cure For the Common Car

It's amazing how quickly we get accustomed to the way a car performs and how quickly we forget how other cars we have owned perform by comparison. My last vehicle was a Jeep Wrangler and I loved it but it was by no means a performance vehicle for the streets and I knew better than to drive it like it was. Even the new Wranglers with stability control can be rolled over if you throw it into a corner hard enough and they aren't even remotely quick off the line. But that's not what a Wrangler does. It's designed to traverse rugged terrain with ease and it did just that.

Of course when I test drove the Mustang it was a world of difference in performance and the rest, as they say, is history. I've been driving the stang for several months now and enjoy it everyday. Today I had to pick up my little niece from school and to do that I had to make use of my mothers Toyota Venza because it has the child safety seat in it. (Long story and no need to bore you with details) I get in the Venza and I swear it felt like I was driving a chuck wagon with one bad wheel by comparison to my Mustang, and this is a car I've driven before. It's not that the Venza is a bad car either, it is actually widely regarded as a well handled vehicle with a smooth and quite ride and decent acceleration. No doubt it's all of those things but after driving my Mustang for awhile I got so accustomed to how it handled and accelerated that the Venza felt terribly lacking in all respects by comparison. It's one of those situations where you don't know what you've got until it's gone, so to speak. A curve that the Mustang could take at 50 or 60 mph with no problem had to be taken at 40 or so in the Venza and even then I felt like I was pushing things a bit far.