2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Battery Done...Can you believe it????

Search this Thread

Old 4/20/22, 04:45 PM
I will buy Jack Stands!!!

Received 29 Likes on 16 Posts
I'm a firm believe that heat is a big issue, as well as larger electrical loads from modern electronics while at rest. What passes as a normal draw now, would have been a parasitic problem on older vehicles. AGM batteries exist to solve that issue, among other reasons.

I'm a Lincoln tech by trade, down here in swampy Florida. Anecdotally speaking, I think the trunk mount for the batteries works out better, based on what I see at work. The only wrinkle to that experience, is that the only modern Lincolns with trunk mounted batteries is the MKZ Hybrid, which is its own can of worms for electrical fun. But I'll say this, I replace so few 12v batteries in the hybrid version, that I forget about where the battery is until I open the hood. Our MKC/Escape vehicles have the battery mounted essentially under the windshield cowl, less than a foot from the valve cover, and maybe 2ft from the exhaust manifold. They absolutely eat batteries, versus vehicles with more cool air around the battery. Again, anecdotally speaking.

Old 4/20/22, 07:23 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 551 Likes on 357 Posts
Originally Posted by mustangGT90210
I'm a firm believe that heat is a big issue, as well as larger electrical loads from modern electronics while at rest. What passes as a normal draw now, would have been a parasitic problem on older vehicles. AGM batteries exist to solve that issue, among other reasons.