Notices
2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

anyone know the correct "how to" clean a 2011+ ETC TB?

Search this Thread

Old 6/21/14, 05:29 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
anyone know the correct "how to" clean a 2011+ ETC TB?

I've been running a Brenspeed tune since September 2013 with zero issues but since it's gotten 90+ here in Texas when running the AC my idle sometimes drops pretty low (and so far stalled once) when I'm decelerate in stop and go situations. I talked to Brenspeed and they said first thing to do is clean the TB. I don't see any harm in following there suggestion to see if it corrects the problem.
I have no issue physically removing the TB if necessary. I'm old school and have never fooled with a electronic controlled throttle body. Is it as simple as just unplugging all the electrical connections, etc... then re-installing? Or is there calibrations that would need done when I put it back on.

Thanks

Last edited by GT50GO; 6/21/14 at 05:30 AM.
Old 6/21/14, 05:49 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts
It is exactly that simple. Just remove intake tube, the electrical connectors, bolts and nuts, and then clean with *throttle body* cleaner. Not straight 'carb cleaner', for that will screw up the coating inside.

You can get the TB's nooks and crannies on the butterfly with a rag and some cleaner, and you can move the butterfly without hurting the thing, it'll just spring shut. You'll see yourself.

Now, what I do when I clean my TB is to also take the negative cable off of the battery so that while I'm cleaning it, the computer's forgetting it's old program with the crusty TB.

You then reinstall everything, then put the cable back on. DO NOT start your car yet. Just turn it to on. Push down on the throttle pedal, about 5 seconds from '0' to firewall, then release the pedal. Start your car, go drive for 10 miles. That's it. All done!