Notices
2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

All Season Tires vs performance tires

Old 5/9/12, 07:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
All Season Tires vs performance tires

It looks like I'll have to do some winter driving with my new ride this winter .
Right now I have the performance package with 19" "summer" tires, which are really fun, but not good for cold, ice, and a little snow. They also aren't very good in rain, I'm finding.
As a newbie I'm still learning, and have a few related questions:
1. Can I buy 18" wheels and tires for the winter. Will they fit over the current performance package brake system (it looks like they will)?
2. Any counsel on good all season tires with a reasonable price for our rear wheel drive toys?
3. Advice on where to look online for buying info, other than tire rack, which is a pretty good site, I know (used it to spec my wife's new Santa Fe tires)?

Thanks in advance.
Old 5/9/12, 08:12 AM
Cobra Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1. Yes you can. I actually have a complete set for sale if you're interested in a winter set up. (https://themustangsource.com/f722/20...s-tpms-507404/) $1000 for $2200 worth of parts and labor. I commute too much so am buying a beater for a DD and winter vehicle. They clear the Brembo brakes no problem, so will definately clear your brakes.

2. All season means no season to me. They do not excel at anything, and you will struggle with traction year round. The summers flat out stick in the summer, and the winters I used this past year were incredible at getting the car moving, and more importantly stopping it. After driving a car with seperate summer and winters, I doubt I will ever go back to all seasons.