05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

painting carbon fiber hoods

Search this Thread

Old 8/6/06, 07:28 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
painting carbon fiber hoods

some ******** at a waterpark decided the hood of my car was a good place to have a picnic. no joke, there were rings from cans and sticky **** and fingerprints all over the hood. AND some niiiiiiice scratch marks. now im hoping the scratch marks can be taken out with some good ol' buffing. they just seem to look like long white hairs (car is black btw). an example of how minor the scratches are would be, if you took a full cardboard box of stuff, put it on the hood, and dragged it across about a foot.

is it possible to take these scratches out? and if so, how. this is my first new car and my others were POS's so i didnt care enough to wax them or anything so im new to all of this.

now, my original question was this. if i were to buy a carbon fiber hood, instead of having the car looking all riced out with the black carbon fiber, can the hood be painted? again, im new to all of this so bear with me.

thank

POST EDITED FOR SWEARING
Old 8/6/06, 10:56 PM
Cam Tease

Yeah, CF can be painted.
Old 8/6/06, 10:57 PM
Cam Tease

Btw, how did you get ***** past the language filters? I commend you...

EDITED..
Old 8/6/06, 10:58 PM
Cam Tease

Whoa, I did too! I may have to test the new profanity bounds...****it.
Old 8/6/06, 11:00 PM
Team Mustang Source

Yes a carbon fiber hood can be painted, just prep it like you would any other material before painting. I have worked with advanced composites for several years now, and have personally painted many carbon fiber parts ( look at the Airforce's newest aircraft the F22, the skin is mostly graphite epoxy, ie carbon fiber).