V6 Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang V6 Performance and Technical Information

Price to get my car dyno'd

Search this Thread

Old 7/19/05, 03:14 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok...As a newbie here I'll post my first question..

I think I've lost some power with my duals but I can't be sure. I didn't have the car dyno'd before so I have no comparisons. (I know..stupid) I did get the h-pipe put on to equalize the pressure and hopefully eliminate any low end power loss but I still feel like the car is dragging a bit now. But I can't be sure... Should I get a dyno (it cost 60 bucks) to see? Is it even worth it if I don't have numbers from before? Anyone else experience the powerloss with an H-PIPE? When I punch it, it just doesn't have the pep that I remember. But to be fair, it's been very hot here in St. Louis (90+ degrees). Any advice would be appreciated.

Oh... there is one other thing I did... I removed the Mustang strip on the rocker panels... Could that have affected performance? *LOL* (Ok..I can be somewhat of a sarcastic guy when I want to be)

Frank
Old 7/19/05, 03:25 PM

It probably did cause you to loose some low end torque. I installed the JBA duals, not the newer true dual setup, and have experienced a bit of low end power loss as well as some small amount of backfiring due to too little back pressure. But when I got the Xcalibrator 2 to reprogram my computer these problems pretty much went away especially after adding CAI as well. They say that it's not necessary to reprogram the computer after adding duals but it certainly seemed to help with mine.

This is just my own experience but it's something to consider.
Old 7/19/05, 04:27 PM
GT Member

vb101,

Yep... I thought the h-pipe was supposed to mitigate the low end power loss. But I had my suspicions to tell you the truth... I've not experienced backfires whatsoever and the sound is really good but can sound a little tinny at high rpm's.